Author Topic: Cu base alloys - brass/bronze  (Read 2977 times)

Offline FL-Flintlock

• Fire & Iron Mfg.
Cu base alloys - brass/bronze
« on: June 28, 2009, 04:39:09 PM »
This is a bit more on Cu based alloys reference the previous posting on red brass.  I am by no means an expert on this topic and most of my experience is from industrial applications, some from gun & accouterment work.  

Annealing bronze is a bit unique and as with anything else, the process depends upon the exact alloy parameters you're dealing with.  If you raise the temperature too-high, bronze and many other Cu base alloys will undergo changes in the molecular bonding and crystalline structure which negates the desired softening effect of annealing.

The correct annealing temperature for common bronze alloys is between 750°F and 1250°F, this is where you need to either know the exact alloy you're working with or spend a lot of time on trial, error and cull.  Heating by "color" is nearly impossible for someone who hasn't had a lot of experience using temperature monitoring equipment and doesn't do it on a daily basis.  "Dull red" or "medium red" can each encompass a temperature range that is far wider than the alloy will allow for so the use of exact temperature indicating/reading devices is a must.