Author Topic: New carving, need help.  (Read 7497 times)

pintail_drake2004

New carving, need help.
« on: July 30, 2009, 10:06:35 PM »
Well my last carving, a leaf, went over like a lead balloon for my Lancaster. So i had to start over. Here are a few "c scrolls" i did. slightly different but not bad. These are my 1st attempt. Will these be PC for a Lancaster?

I know they are not great, since they are my first attempt. but last time i did that leaf like 50 times and it turns out it wasnt good enough. So before i spend too much time on these i wanted some input.

Pintail

Black Hand

Re: New carving, need help.
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2009, 10:23:55 PM »
While I am no expert, your scrolls don't flow as they should and lack dimension....

pintail_drake2004

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2009, 10:28:01 PM »
elaborate on that would ya? im new to this stuff

Offline Swampwalker

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2009, 10:51:36 PM »
What you show does not look like traditional 18th century longrifle carving.  What I would recommend is that you find some pictures in one of the many books on original rifles, and draw out the various carving designs - don't even try to carve them until you can draw them well.  Then, once you can draw out what you want, start trying to carve them until what you carve has definition and depth, and looks like the originals.  Also, I highly recommend following the tutorials in the tutorials section of this site.  Once you can copy original work successfully, then you can get creative; in effect you've developed an alphabet of the various leaf and scroll elements through your drawing and practice carving attempts, and can begin to put together original designs.

Offline t.caster

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2009, 10:52:10 PM »
Pintail, what are you using for a tool? An HOW are you using it?
« Last Edit: July 30, 2009, 11:08:36 PM by t.caster »
Tom C.

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2009, 11:15:32 PM »