Author Topic: Metallurgy  (Read 2599 times)

Offline helwood

Metallurgy
« on: July 04, 2020, 12:51:39 AM »
Greetings, I've been going through my library and can't find  close to what I was wondering.   But, if you had x3 Exact Mainsprings one made from W1, one O1, and one 6150  could you tell the difference in performance?  Just curious.  Thanks for thoughts.
Hank

Offline jerrywh

• Jerrywh-gunmaker- Master  Engraver FEGA.
Re: Metallurgy
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2020, 01:24:27 AM »
I am not a metallurgical engineer but I have consulted with some on a professional level about heat treating springs. Because I use to make springs for gun smiths on a mass level and at first I had a lot of problems. My problems were solved by them years ago. I have used all three of the metals you refereed to.  To answer your question I doubt if you could tell the difference between W1 and .01 steel in a spring of the same dimensions. W1 is a water hardening steel and 01 is a oil hardening steel. And if tempered the same way they both would result very near the same properties.  6150 is different and I call it a fools steel because it is forgiving. It only has about 1/2 the carbon that 01 or 1095 or w1 has and therefore it does not harden very hard. It also has chrome  and manganese in it which makes it tough. Since it does not harden very hard it is sort of fool proof because if it is not tempered quite right it will be somewhat forgiving. In other words a novas might get away with some mistakes in tempering.  if you harden 6150 in the usual manner it will still file somewhat and will make you think it is not hardened completely but just disregard this and proceed with tempering and it will turn ouut OK.   In the end it will be a little mushy feeling compared to the other spring steels. Last I checked L&R was making springs from 6150
Nobody is always correct, Not even me.

Offline Darrin McDonal

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2020, 02:30:24 AM »