Author Topic: Reliable Yet Correct Flintlock  (Read 1262 times)

Offline Vaquero

Reliable Yet Correct Flintlock
« on: November 14, 2020, 08:06:21 PM »
Hey everyone,

I’ve decided to go towards a heavy bore, Rocky Mountain rifle as my next build. I’ve not decided whether it will be a true Hawken, or more along the lines of a hodge-podge rifle built at Bents Fort or some other locale.

Regardless, it will be a flinter.

My questions  that I’d like some feedback on from y’all is:

What is the “best” lock I can buy for the price, that would still be believable for a western gun. I’m leaning towards Kiblers Ketland lock as I’ve heard nothing but praise, but I’m open to suggestions.

What are the “best” double set triggers that I should be looking at? My first rifle is a single trigger, so I have no experience with what’s out there except on a repro I used to own that had set triggers. Roller triggers are some of the best I have heard, but I understand that may be hard to come by.

Thank you for your answers and feedback!

Davison

Offline Don Stith

Re: Reliable Yet Correct Flintlock
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2020, 08:49:48 PM »
I have  no experience with the Kibler locks,but have gotten good performance from the Chambers late Ketland.  The quote I recently sent you was with  Roller triggers
Don

Offline Not English

Re: Reliable Yet Correct Flintlock
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2020, 03:16:26 AM »