Author Topic: Black walnut rifle stocks  (Read 2803 times)

Offline old george

Black walnut rifle stocks
« on: November 10, 2020, 09:44:12 PM »
I received a black walnut gunstand from an outfit in Texas done in black walnut with a tung oil finish. I was wondering if anyone has stocked a rifle in this wood and how hard was it to shape etc.?

george
I cannot go to Hades: Satan has a restraining order against me. :)

Offline Scota4570

Re: Black walnut rifle stocks
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2020, 10:27:51 PM »
Black walnut is among the most common gunstock woods.  The qualities are dependant on where and how it grew. It is easy to work.  IT is open pored so finishing take more time than maple, for instance. 

Offline pjmcdonald

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2020, 04:19:18 AM »
George,
I’m a relative neophyte builder but I have done two in walnut. I have a love/hate relationship with walnut. Rough shaping was fairly easy. Detail work was more challenging. The two blanks I had were chippy. Tight inlets were a chore but looked good in the end. I did have more than a few patches but most are nearly invisible.

I love the way walnut finishes out, if you take your time. I did not fully fill the grain on my second. On the first, the grain was so tight it didn’t need much to make it nice and smooth. Incidentally, the first I did had a knot right in the middle of the cheek rest. The swirl looked like a wolf’s eye. Turned out pretty cool in my opinion.

Regards,
Paul

Offline Fly Navy

« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2020, 08:33:43 AM »
I'm also building a walnut stocked rifle and have noticed the wood chips easy. I'm taking it very slow to help avoid this problem.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2020, 02:19:44 PM »
I'm also building a walnut stocked rifle and have noticed the wood chips easy. I'm taking it very slow to help avoid this problem.