Author Topic: Safety first, even as you build.  (Read 8754 times)

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Safety first, even as you build.
« on: August 30, 2009, 03:51:11 PM »
Folks, I blew the muzzle on my rifle this weekend, from shot starting the load. More here:
http://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=6386.0

Why do I post this here? Number one, EVERYONE should read this post. It can happen to you.

What has this got to do with building?

Two, as a BUILDER, I would have done things a little differently, had I been aware of this issue when I built the gun. I cut my dovetail way too deep for this wall thickness. This has been mentioned many times over the years to NOT cut dovetails too deep, or at all, in the waist of a light swamped barrel. The danger is that the wall thickness will be too thin.

This shows the wall thickness over the dovetail, thinned even more, as a rifle groove happened here as well. The groove plus the already thin wall gave the pressure a path of least resistance. the split started under the sight base, and tore for and aft from there. Fortunately, everything went UP.

Does that look too thin? Sure does to me. So WATCH YOUR DOVETAILS, builders. This is not even in a high risk area, normally, but in the future, I will thin the sight base down before cutting the dovetail. And if I MUST use a short starter, I will make it so it pushes the ball beyond the dovetail.

As a builder you must be concerned with SAFETY, perhaps the safety of someone you'll never meet, but nonetheless, you must build with safety on top of your priority list.

Tom
« Last Edit: August 30, 2009, 03:55:27 PM by Acer Saccharum »
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

Offline Ken G

• F & AM #758
Re: Safety first, even as you build.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2009, 04:20:24 PM »
Acer,
How deep is the dovetail?  I'm read in your previous post it is a .54 cal.  Is it a "C" profile barrel.