Author Topic: Can pot metal be soldered ?  (Read 1874 times)

Offline Jerry V Lape

Can pot metal be soldered ?
« on: December 26, 2021, 10:32:41 AM »
Attempting to fix a replica muzzle loader for a friend's grandson.  The piece is pot metal and I have no experience in soldering this stuff.  Can it be done and suggestions regarding heat limits for pot metal.   

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Can pot metal be soldered ?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2021, 03:28:28 PM »
Pot metal is not a technical term  ;D.  I’m guessing you’ve determined it’s not magnetic and not brass. What piece are you working on?
Andover, Vermont

Offline heinz

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2021, 04:00:45 PM »
Jerry, as Rich notes, "pot metal" does not describe a definite alloy.  The term comes from the early twentieth century where scrap non-ferrous metals were tossed into a large melting pot to form a low melting point alloy to be used for various manufacturing, maintenance and development steps. This was common in the automobile factories.  It is often mostly zinc , lead, and copper, but aluminum, some iron and any other junk scrap make it a very cheap alloy.

Soldering is hit or miss, because post-ww2 pot metal often has a lot of cheap aluminum scrap in it.  Depending on the part, various fixes involving epoxies and glues with some reinforcement fro sheet metal may be possible.  Be careful around any sort of heat source because it may melt at very low temperatures with no change in the metal color.
kind regards, heinz

Offline kutter

« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2021, 08:30:24 PM »
BernzOmatic brand,,and there are likely others, have an aluminum soldering/brazing 'rod' thats available in places like Home Depot and Lowes.
It's a flux coated rod,,looks like a flux coated welding rod.

For use on aluminum like fixing aluminum doors and windows, alum boats, alum castings like  outboard motors and they also state it works on Zinc based metal castings .