Author Topic: Inletting "Draft filed" parts  (Read 2649 times)

Offline Jim Filipski

• Jim W. Filipski  Flintlocks
Inletting "Draft filed" parts
« on: February 23, 2022, 03:16:45 AM »
I have been building custom flintlock long guns since 1983, so i have done my share of inletting parts into wood & I have my methods of  inletting "draft filled" hardware and locks into a stock blank.
I have read many articles on inletting , but none have ever addressed the situation when the "draft of the part" starts to ride the inlet sides! I for one use precision sharpened scrapers, and i tend to inlet very tight to the point of once the stock is finally finished I have to re-work the inlets to get the parts to fit again! So after, just shy of 30 years gun building, ...would like to hear other's stories and methods if anyone cares to share!
Jim
" Associate with men of good quality,  if you esteem your own reputation:
for it is better to be alone than in bad company. "      -   George Washington

"A brush of the hand
of Providence is behind what is done with good heart."

Offline paulitus

Re: Inletting "Draft filed" parts
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2022, 03:36:26 AM »
Too tight can be fixed. Too loose, not so much. I also have been doing this for many years, and find that I am keeping the draft to the bare minimum.

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2022, 04:42:35 AM »
I used to inlet much more tightly than I do now.  I am re-building a rifle I made in 1983 currently, reducing the lop from 16" to 14", installing a new lock, and completely refinishing it.  Taking the gun apart this afternoon, I had to use the retaining bolts to tap the parts (lock and trigger assembly) out of the wood.  I appreciate that the rifle has never been apart these past 39 years, but the inletting is still too tight.