Author Topic: Pecatonica Verner flintlock kit  (Read 1814 times)

Online hawkeye

Pecatonica Verner flintlock kit
« on: April 12, 2022, 08:36:33 PM »
Hi guys, I only assembled in the past 2 rifle kits, so I have no experience in building from a blank.
So, has anybody build or seen a Verner kit rifle from pecatonica? Recommendations or critics on that one?

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
Re: Pecatonica Verner flintlock kit
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2022, 08:58:26 PM »
Your best bet is to study the pictures in Shumway's Rifles of Colonial America Vol. I, and compare them to the Pecetonica stock.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Online Bob Gerard

• Powder Horns and Such
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2022, 10:16:30 PM »
Yes, I built the Pecatonica Verner kit almost two years ago. Some things I would have done differently had I built it today, notably the lock panels and moldings. But the kit was very enjoyable to build and, it is a nice gun to shoot.

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2022, 10:58:06 PM »
        The very best photos of "The Verner" rifle from many angles with many details are in Dave Hanson's book "The American Longrifle, its Art and Evolution."   The book is well worth every penny if you are considering building a good representation of the original.  While Bod did a very nice job of building a rifle on a Verner architecture, the details are nothing like the original Verner.  There are only two signed rifles by Verner I have had the pleasure of handling both of them.  He was one of the very best of the Golden Age.   
Ron
"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Online Bob Gerard

• Powder Horns and Such
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2022, 11:47:38 PM »