Author Topic: Problem building a lock from castings………HELP! [Fixed - Thanks!]  (Read 1368 times)

Offline Robert Wolfe

• Great X Grandpa
I got this early Dutch lock from TRS and have been slowly putting it together. (Note: I am a lock building novice, this is number 2.) I installed the mainspring but it interferes with itself before getting to full cock – see pics.

Did I need to screw the mainspring higher on the lock plate? I can take it a little bit higher by filing off the tit above the screw but not a bunch (16th inch?). Higher than that and it will interfere with the pan. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Cock down

Half cock

Almost full cock. Arrow shows there the mainspring interferes with itself.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2022, 04:14:55 PM by Robert Wolfe »
Robert Wolfe
Northern Indiana

Offline Bob Roller

Re: Problem building a lock from castings………HELP!
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2022, 08:09:29 PM »
File a radius around the screw head and that MIGHT give the room needed to get to fully cocked.I noticed the mainspring at low point is almost off the tumbler or appears to be so,I have never tried a lock from a kit and can't speak from experience.Now that I have changed glasses I think the hole where the upper limb stud goes thru is a bit too high and it can be plugged and redrilled to lower the front of the spring and change the geometry of the whole thing and get the spring where it belongs including the fired cock down/fired.One more thing as Lt.Columbo used to say.The cock is NOW too far back in that lower picture and the full cock looks like anther safety.I wonder if this sin't a case of mismatched parts.
Bob Roller
« Last Edit: June 06, 2022, 10:13:18 PM by Bob Roller »

Offline DavidC

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2022, 08:15:04 PM »