Author Topic: Barrel Id?  (Read 5446 times)

Stone River

Barrel Id?
« on: November 04, 2009, 04:49:10 AM »
Hello all,
     Anyone know who made/makes a barrel marked Alleghany XX?  I inherited a nice .50cal. longrifle, the barrel is 43" long and the only marks on it is a stamp that says Alleghany XX.  Just looking for who made it, the barrel and if anyone else has one what patch/ball combo might work best.  The gun was a custom build as far as I know.

Thanks again!

Stone River

Daryl

Re: Barrel Id?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 06:15:18 PM »
May or may not be a Douglas barrel.  They are the only barrels I've ever seen marked with a XX, which for Douglas was supposed to mean the drill went straight down the octagonal blank. Douglas drilled octagonal stock and did not cut flats after drilling and rifling.
Douglas barrels are said to like oversized balls and about a .015" patch, ie: a .50 would shoot a .500" to .504" ball with a .015" patch.  I have no actual experience with Douglas ML barrels - the above is here-say evidence.

Offline patchbox

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 12:51:37 AM »

The Douglas barrel I purchased in the mid 70s was also marked with a double x and was referred to as premium..........Chuck P.

Stone River

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2009, 05:21:57 AM »