Author Topic: Basic types of wood chisels for a beginner?  (Read 6809 times)

Andy A

Basic types of wood chisels for a beginner?
« on: November 12, 2009, 02:52:41 AM »
Guys,
I am just starting out as a builder. I am working on a Leman precarve but need to inlet the lock and trigger.
What types, kinds of chisels should I have to start out? Also where is your favorite place to get these??

Andy A

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Basic types of wood chisels for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2009, 05:46:01 AM »
A lot of work can be done with 3 straight chisels and one gouge.  One straight chisel needs to be narrow enough to be used for trigger mortises, for underlug inlets, and ramrod thimble tab inlets.  Next size up is about 3/16" to 1/4" wide.  Big one can be 1/2".  A gouge that is about half of a circle  1/2" to 5/8" wide is useful in many places.  If you get to handle the chisels you are buying, take along a large Siler lockplate and find a gouge that is a bit smaller than the rounded nose of the lockplate.  That's the ticket.

If you have a woodcrafters store locally, go there and see what they have.  I make my own (cheap guy).  Or order Pfiel chisels from any of many places online.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Beaverman

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2009, 08:25:06 AM »
Buy the best you can afford at the moment, most of my chisels at the moment are Lamp Brand, made in Germany purchased through Woodcarvers Supply, they have a site, when I'm wealthy enough to afford Pfiel, or Swiss, then I'll upgrade, I've had no problems with my chisels taking an edge an holding it
« Last Edit: November 12, 2009, 08:26:30 AM by Beaverman »

Andy A

« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2009, 11:54:23 PM »
Thanks guys,
Sounds like good info and I will get started with this!

Andy A

brokenflint

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2009, 03:11:25 AM »
A skew will also come in handy.  Just beware acquiring chisels can be addicting and you will need your fix  ;D

Broke

ramserl