Author Topic: Ironsmithing and Gunmaking  (Read 4594 times)

northwoodsdave

Ironsmithing and Gunmaking
« on: August 11, 2008, 09:09:34 PM »
I'm pretty new at gunmaking, but have some blacksmithing background.  Now that I'm setting up a forge along with setting up a shop for building guns, I'm curious if there are resources out there for smithing gun parts. 

I already found (and contacted) Steve Bookout at Toad Hall.  But are there any blacksmithing books that contain information specific to gun building? Any other sites?

Thanks in advance!

David Lowe

Scott Brush

Re: Ironsmithing and Gunmaking
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 09:21:59 PM »
David,

American Pioneer Video is one that comes to mind, here's a link to their site; http://www.americanpioneervideo.com/  They're very nice to deal with.

Scott

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 10:15:47 PM »
I'm pretty new at gunmaking, but have some blacksmithing background.  Now that I'm setting up a forge along with setting up a shop for building guns, I'm curious if there are resources out there for smithing gun parts. 

I already found (and contacted) Steve Bookout at Toad Hall.  But are there any blacksmithing books that contain information specific to gun building? Any other sites?

Thanks in advance!

David Lowe

This link should take you to the Gunsmith of Williamsburg video.
This has forge work on gun parts and it is good from anyone who wants to make longrifles to have.
Dan
http://www.williamsburgmarketplace.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductView?catalogId=12116&storeId=10001&langId=-1&categoryId=16230&parentCategoryId=18377&start=1&end=12&sortBy=featured
He who dares not offend cannot be honest. Thomas Paine

northwoodsdave

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 10:22:26 PM »
Both sources look great and thanks to both of you.