Author Topic: Barrel Fitting Question  (Read 1864 times)

Offline Haulroad

• Starting Member
Barrel Fitting Question
« on: June 13, 2023, 09:00:54 PM »
Hi,
 I am a new builder. Can someone tell me what this long cut is for on my CNC cut stock?

I am starting the barrel fitting to the stock as seen below. I've carefully removed the wood that had transfer color on it but am still having trouble getting the  the gap between the rear of the barrel and the stock to close.

Offline JH Ehlers

Re: Barrel Fitting Question
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2023, 09:12:37 PM »
That cut is where the main spring of the lock comes close to the barrel, its normal to have it there when things are close fitting.
go slow with the fitting, dont use too much colour.

Offline FlintFan

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2023, 09:23:43 PM »
The breakthrough in the barrel channel is common, not ideal, but common.

I wouldn't worry too much about the gap at the rear of the tang. Having a slight gap there is actually preferable.  Once the stock is finished, it will be less noticeable.  More importantly if there is not a slight gap there, there is a high risk of wood chipping out behind the tang due to the recoil of the rifle. The thickness of a couple sheets of paper worth of gap is enough. 

Offline Haulroad

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2023, 09:26:50 PM »
Thanks all! Excited to get started but I am a total newb.

Offline JPK

« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2023, 09:51:24 PM »
Make some wooden jaw pads for your vice, you are making more work for yourself. With the barrel in place tap the muzzle with a wood or leather mallet to seat it back. It appears to be a Woods Runner and no inletting of the barrel should be needed.
A clear conscience is usually the sign of a bad memory.

Offline Stoner creek

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2023, 10:08:59 PM »