Author Topic: green horn bought a side by side 12 gauge  (Read 1580 times)

Offline danny

• Starting Member
green horn bought a side by side 12 gauge
« on: July 22, 2023, 03:29:20 PM »
Been shooting it, lots of fun. Tried the skychief load and it works. Really surprised me. Watched a you tube video from a guy in Hungary. Said in Europe they are putting cornmeal directly on the powder then shot right on top the cornmeal then a card. Said the clay pigeon competition guys are doing this. Anybody tried this? I am a bit skeptical of you tube.

Looking forward to bird season here in KS. Not sure what my dog will think of reload time but dove season opens soon. Want to give it a go. Been experimenting with #8 shot and clay pigeons. Shooting some cardboard for patterns. Plan to move up to #6 when quail/pheasant season opens as either can be found on the same hunt.

I am a complete rookie with smoothbore. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: green horn bought a side by side 12 gauge
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2023, 05:30:10 PM »
Many side by sides have some choke with the left side tighter. There are more personal preferences with loading smoothbores because there are more variables. My practical test is to learn at what distance I can kill a soup can. The shot must pass through the can, not just dent it. This is where the shot size/pattern density come into play. Bigger shot carries more energy further downrange but patterns are sparser.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2023, 08:43:54 PM by rich pierce »
Andover, Vermont

Offline stikshooter

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2023, 05:57:56 PM »
Been shooting it, lots of fun. Tried the skychief load and it works. Really surprised me. Watched a you tube video from a guy in Hungary. Said in Europe they are putting cornmeal directly on the powder then shot right on top the cornmeal then a card. Said the clay pigeon competition guys are doing this. Anybody tried this? I am a bit skeptical of you tube.