Author Topic: Militia Gun Lock Help  (Read 1271 times)

Offline silky

Militia Gun Lock Help
« on: October 18, 2023, 08:32:32 PM »
Good morning,

I'm planning my next build, a New England militia gun based upon/inspired by the Connecticut COS musket #19 described and shown on pages 52/54 of Lindsay's "The New England Gun."  I really dig the butt stock profile on this one.

I'm still learning the intricacies and details of different locks and want to pick one that 1) fits on a New England gun during the Revolution, and 2) is a good match for what is on that particular musket. Lindsay describes it as appearing "entirely American except for some of the furniture which is British."

So, any recommendations on the right lock to use?  It will be married up with a O/R barrel that is 1-1/8" at the breech.

The one pictured appears to have a bit of a banana shape, and the following locks look similar to my untrained (but learning!) eyes...

Barker-Whatley Lock -- https://www.trackofthewolf.com/Categories/PartDetail.aspx/720/1/LOCK-BARKER-F-RH

Davis Colonial American Lock -- https://www.trackofthewolf.com/Categories/PartDetail.aspx/720/1/LOCK-COLONIAL-F-1

Siler Lock or Chambers Dale Johnson Lock?  I know that is a Germanic style, but to my eyes it looks fairly similar, though maybe a bit undersized.

Chambers Gunmakers Lock?

Moderators, I hope it's okay that I've included photos of that page in the book; if not, I'll remove them.

I appreciate your help!

- Tom

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Militia Gun Lock Help
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2023, 08:43:14 PM »
The Davis Colonial is big enough for such a gun.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2023, 09:08:17 PM »
Davis Colonial looks like a good candidate.

Bob Roller

Offline alex e.

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2023, 05:45:52 PM »
Davis colonial.
Uva uvam videndo varia fit

Offline Clark Badgett

• Oklahoma
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2023, 02:35:36 AM »