Author Topic: Drum size on 13/16'' bbl  (Read 5258 times)

JLE

Drum size on 13/16'' bbl
« on: December 13, 2009, 02:59:40 AM »
Will I have any problems with a 1/2'' drum on a 13/16'' .36 cal Colerain bbl.if I build by the book? I done a search on this site and really did not find anything.Sorry guys I am fairly new to building.Will be building a Southern rifle,steel mounted.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Re: Drum size on 13/16'' bbl
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2009, 03:18:10 AM »
JLE,
You didn't mention what caliber the rifle is but that is very important. In the larger calibers .45 and up, you have a very thin wall for the drum threads. I don't build percussions with a drum/nipple so I may be wrong about the caliber but I think it is dangerous using them on anything over a .40 caliber and some say even smaller calibers. Some won't use the at all!
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline Pete Allan

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2009, 04:31:32 AM »
You might look into the drum and nipple breechs that I designed as it eliminates any of the normal safety concerns with common drum setups. I have personally seen drums blown out right on the firing line at a match so I know it can happen. They are just like a normal patient breech but they look like a drum on a barrel. Both Tip Curtis and Track of the Wolf handle them otherwise I have them in stock.

Offline wvmtnman

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2009, 06:24:05 AM »