Author Topic: Scraping Walnut ok?  (Read 658 times)

Offline AZshot

Scraping Walnut ok?
« on: August 21, 2024, 01:11:11 AM »
Hi,
I have a Kibler kit Southern kit coming this fall, I sent them a walnut stock from Allen Martin.  I've never used scrapers before.  But I want to try them on this kit, no sandpaper.  But I want to be sure, does scraping work equally well on walnut as the maple you usually read about? 

I've read here all the posts I can find.  I do see whiskering can be a challange.  But I want to try the scrapers, anything to know?  Thanks.

Offline JPK

Re: Scraping Walnut ok?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2024, 01:21:49 AM »
Scrapers work, pay attention to the grain.
A clear conscience is usually the sign of a bad memory.

Offline AZshot

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2024, 02:11:05 AM »
Thanks, can you clarify?  I usually sand with the grain any wood.  Do the same with scrapers?

Offline davec2

• The Lucky Bag
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2024, 03:11:04 AM »
I use scrapers a lot.  Keep the edges sharp and use them in any direction that will produce a smooth cut.  You will be able to tell instantly.  Sometimes with the grain....sometimes against it.....some times at an angle to it....sometimes parallel to it.  Sometimes the surface wants to ripple due to the curl and you end up scraping in parallel (or at an angle) to the washboard surface to smooth it out.  As long as whatever you are doing is smoothing the wood, you're doing OK.

And by the way, I scrape brass and steel as well as wood.... ;)
"No man will be a sailor who has contrivance enough to get himself into a jail; for being in a ship is being in a jail, with the chance of being drowned... a man in a jail has more room, better food, and commonly better company."
Dr. Samuel Johnson, 1780

Offline AZshot

« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2024, 07:13:49 PM »
Thanks all.  I will go for it.  Worst case I don't like the results, and finish up with some sandpaper... But probably will like it a lot.