Author Topic: copper for sights  (Read 5643 times)

Offline Dan Herda

copper for sights
« on: May 12, 2010, 10:05:17 PM »
Move to correct category if nessesary.

I have read the use of copper for sights and have a few questions about that.

Was it used for the base only?

Was there a particular school or region or even time period that was most common to use copper?

And maybe an answear to part of this (?) , was it used because of the availablity in pots and kettles?

Thank you for any input,Dan

lew wetzel

Re: copper for sights
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 10:24:44 PM »
dont know any of that.i made one and installed it because i am a machinist and had it available.looks real good in the sunlight.......i would bet they might have used them and if so it was because it was available and pretty soft to work with......

Bill Brockway

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 11:11:05 PM »
ridjrnr -

I have a Tennessee-made longrifle with a front sight that is partly copper.  The base is copper; the blade is coin silver or another silver colored metal.  The rear sight is all iron.  For some reason, I have always believed that this type front sight was not uncommon, although I would be hard-pressed to prove it.  The blade is not very tall, probably 3/32" above the top barrel flat; almost invisible when shooting.

This rifle has been my family since the 1830's.

Bill Brockway

Offline Mark Elliott

• Mark Elliott  Artist & Craftsman
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 12:59:08 AM »
I have also seen cooper front sight bases on southern guns.  I am told it was also used for barrel tenons on southern guns but I haven't seen that myself.   I think that there would usually be a silver front sight blade because it was considered good luck to have silver somewhere on the rifle and the front sight blade is a good place to put a bit of silver on an otherwise plain rifle.

Mark E.

Offline Chuck Burrows

• Wild Rose Trading Company
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2010, 01:20:15 AM »