Author Topic: Countersink woes  (Read 19129 times)

eagle24

Countersink woes
« on: September 10, 2008, 03:34:07 PM »
I'm having problems cutting clean contersinks in metal.  I guess it is chattering, but instead of a smooth countersink, I'm getting a 6 sided bevel to the hole.  What causes this problem or how do I keep it from doing that?  The only ones I have done so far are the Tang bolt and Tang screw (southern rifle).

Offline Long John

• Give me Liberty or give me Death
Re: Countersink woes
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 03:53:23 PM »
There are others here that are true machinists and they will probably give you better advice than I can.  I am just an amateur. 

I have had the same problem when using the countersinks that have a bunch of cutting edges on a conical portion.  I think those countersinks are intended for wood and when used on metal, especially with a hand drill, they bounce up and down while you are drilling with them and yield that multi-sided pyramidal depression rather than a smooth cone.  For metal I use a countersink that has a single cutting edge like a single flute drill bit.  Those countersinks cut a nice smooth conical hole in steel but don't work well at all in wood.

Best Regards,

John Cholin

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 04:03:40 PM »
Try one of these countersinks:

The trouble with the six sided is that they start to set up harmonics, and before you know it, you have chatter.

With a single flute tool, you don't get that chatter. I also mount this in my brace and can take metal off one side of the hole if it needs to move over a touch. Do this by partial rotation of the brace.

Plenty of pressure and low RPM combats chatter and gives the best finish. Run a countersink as low rpm as possible. Cutting oil helps, but don't use oil if the metal is in the unfinished stock.

Look in McMaster-Carr or MSCdirect.com or Enco for these tools.