Author Topic: For the engravers among us ...  (Read 12482 times)

Offline B. Hey

For the engravers among us ...
« on: June 21, 2010, 06:16:28 AM »
I'm very interested in trying my hand at engraving lock plates, side/toe plates, etc. I have no engraving experience. Would someone care to suggest a list of basic tools and where they might best be procured? Thanks for your help. Bill

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: For the engravers among us ...
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 04:30:40 PM »
3/16" Momax Cobalt square engraver blanks form Brownells.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline sz

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2010, 04:45:42 PM »
As mike said, get the Momax Cobalt gravers.
However you'll need more.
1st off, I would suggest you get Linton Mackenzie's first DVD to see how he did things.  He'll show you ways to get started.  You are going to need a good quality small vice, mounted in a ball so you can turn your work.  You'll need a small hammer.
You are going to need a stone or two, so you can sharpen your gravers.
Other things you may find helpful will be a good set of 1.5 power reading glasses so your eyes don't get too tired, and the book "The Art of Engraving' by Meek,  as well as any other "how to" books you can find.

Offline LRB

• WICK ELLERBE
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2010, 05:04:10 PM »
  The Meek book is near useless for early type engraving, or even hammer and chisle work in general. The McKenzie videos are excellent. #1, and #2 are very good. #3 not so much for the type of engraving you want to do.
MIKE, did you mean 3/32", or do you use a graver that large? For me 3/32" is plenty large enough, but I know everyone does things different.

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2010, 05:37:04 PM »