Author Topic: Help With KY Identification?  (Read 4346 times)

otisrush

Help With KY Identification?
« on: June 30, 2010, 06:40:29 AM »
Admin Addendum - Contributed by a Friend of the Library and a direct quote:

"Above info should cover this fine gun. I'd certainly be proud to own.
XXX"

Baum, Samuel  ( -1842). gunsmith. 1789-1840, New Berlin, Union County.  Before 1802 New Berlin was in Northumberland County.  In 1821 there was a Samuel Baum in Mahoning Township, Columbia County  [tax; Juniata and Susquehanna Valleys, II, 1407; Gardner, Small Arms Makers, p. 14; Battle, Montour County, p. 93].  In 1829 Baum's name was crossed off the tax list of New Berlin.  His will was probated in 1842 and named sons Charles, Samuel, Jacob, Henry and Edward; and daughters Elizabeth, Mary, Margaret, Rachel, Louisa Ann and Susan Jane [Union County Will 16-W-1842].

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's my first time here.  I hope I'm posting this in the right place.

My dad has a KY rifle and I'd appreciate any help or pointers to books/info or other tips in getting this identified.  The "lore" he always told me was, based on the "S B" engraved on the barrel, he wondered whether it was connected to Samuel Boone or Squire Boone.  He hasn't done any serious research - and now with the internet - I'm wondering if it might be easier to track down some sort of answer as to the origins of this piece.

I've included some pictures below.  I don't have any full-length photos.  If they're needed I can certainly add.

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

« Last Edit: July 02, 2010, 03:01:18 PM by nord »

California Kid

Re: Help With KY Identification?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 07:39:07 AM »
Looks like Sam Baum. Check out the museum, there area couple examples there.

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 01:41:03 PM »
Welcome to ALR Otis!!