Author Topic: Golcher and Simpson Saint Paul  (Read 6056 times)

bri_4623

Golcher and Simpson Saint Paul
« on: July 15, 2010, 05:39:09 AM »
This is a family heirloom that we are interested in learning more about.  
Forgive my lack of terminology..newbie here.
Printed on the barrel and lock Golcher and Simpson Saint Paul
Removing the barrel from the stock reveals a maker's mark of
  E
 L G
which has an oval around it.  There is also some numerals and initials there.  On one side of the barrel is printed 17.0 ans the other in the same area is printed 13.0.  Also in the area are the initials HA.  The barrels are two different sizes as well.  The gun appears to be adorned with two different metals, once brass, and the other I am unsure, it has a bit of rust, but could clean up to a silvery sheen.
Total Length 48"
Barrel Length 32 1/2"

I am looking for some history, an idea of insurance value, and wondering if I can/should clean it, or pay to have it restored.

Thanks in advance.

Here are the photos

« Last Edit: July 15, 2010, 05:56:27 AM by bri_4623 »

Offline Nate McKenzie

• Luzerne Co. PA
    • Nathan McKenzie Gunmaker
Re: Golcher and Simpson Saint Paul
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2010, 06:13:20 AM »
The L E G is a Belgium proof mark so the barrels were made in Liege, Belgium. Possibly the rest of the gun too.

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2010, 04:51:40 PM »
The 13 and the 17 are the bore size in millimeters. Is the right barrel rifled? It doesn't have much value as it is in pretty poor condition. Probably $300 give or take $100. I'd just oil it and leave it at that.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

bri_4623

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2010, 05:05:24 PM »