Author Topic: Proper cap box construction  (Read 3161 times)

Red Owl

Proper cap box construction
« on: October 16, 2010, 07:53:57 PM »
The only cap box I ever put on a rifle came as a completed kit where the parts all fit together. I recently ordered a brass cap box where you have to install a pin in the lid and holes in the tabs of the surrounding border piece. In any event I'm not sure how to proceed. I can drill a hole cross wise through the tab on the lid for the pin but should I file a slot for the pin to rest in the tabs and use the spring to hold in place, or drill a hole through the tabs? On the originals- how was it done?  Any help appreciated.

Offline okieboy

Re: Proper cap box construction
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 06:37:56 AM »
 Red Owl, I am not a capbox expert, but I will tell you about the ones that I have handled, and I made you a little sketch to illustrate.
 The first thing you have to do is get a good fit between the lid and frame.  This is just a stain transfer process using a needle file or a scraper (a bearing scraper or an old pocket knife thatcan be abused). You probably want to smooth one piece first then do your fitting on the other piece. Then when you are happy with the fit, clamp the two pieces together and drill your pin hole thru them in one shot.
 Then inlet the frame, remove wood for the cavity, then remove wood such that the lid cam has a unobstructed travel. Finally, cut a narrow mortise for a spring. This spring can be simply flat; screw it in place with a screw. The screw in the drawing looks like a flat head as that is my standard symbol for a wood screw, but a round head would probably work better here.
 The important thing is the cam. The top of the cam has to be on the spring side of the pin centerline so that the spring keeps tension on the lid in the closed position, and holds the lid open in the open position.