Author Topic: Urban Legend?  (Read 13604 times)

Offline Darkhorse

Re: Urban Legend?
« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2010, 07:14:26 PM »
Several years ago I ordered a .40 from JC Rice while he was still building barrels. The first time I unbreeched the barrel I expected it to be tough as most other barrels had been. I gave a good pull and almost fell on the floor. After the initial pull it removed fairly easily by hand.
I've worked over 35 years in the machinist and engineering management trade. I have lots of hands on experience. There was no discernable slop at any point in the length of the thread. Lacking thread mikes, or thread gages I could not figure out what I wanted to know about the thread fit. Memory says the Major diameter was a little under specs. All I know is I like it.
That rifle has been fired between 1000 and 1500 times with no problem.
American horses of Arabian descent.

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
Re: Urban Legend?
« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2010, 01:46:07 AM »
I recall that Kit Ravenshear like to have the plug removable by hand. It seems nutty to me.

But to over tighten, you are actually weakening the assembly, pre-stressing the threads as it were.  There is a balance to be struck between too loose and too tight.

Its pretty difficult to over stress even a 5/8" plug with 12" wrench unless one is trying too hard. Putting this much pressure on things tends to mark the breech plug with wrench tracks. I use more pressure when fitting since a little crush keeps things from getting loose if the plug is removed and re-installed. But once fit the plug only needs 1/32 turn past contact to be snug enough for any purpose. In a 16 tpi this is not much. .002 or so.