Author Topic: Southern Style  (Read 4294 times)

Gun Butcher

Southern Style
« on: October 22, 2010, 04:59:31 AM »
  As a few of you know I haven't been doing horns very long and I am still learning.
This is my latest, #12. It has a two part antler applied tip with a brass staple.
The base plug is elm and is hollowed out to reduce weight and increase capacity.
The base is 2 1/2 in dia. and the horn is 15 in. around the outside curve including the tip. As I am still getting the hang of "styles", I am calling this one a southern style until someone points me in the right direction.
Ron

Mike R

Re: Southern Style
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 03:28:15 PM »
Nice work!  Looks southern to me...

Offline Roger Fisher

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 05:04:09 PM »
Tis a fine art this horner work :)

Offline Tim Crosby

• Administrator
  • AKA TimBuckII
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2010, 06:16:16 PM »
 Looks Southern to me. Question; Brass staple, were they used? I do not think I have ever seen one, doesn't mean they weren't used. For that matter a staple at all on a banded horn.

Tim C.

Gun Butcher

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2010, 07:14:46 PM »
  Tim, you are absolutly correct. I just had that conversation with another much better horner than myself and I agree I should have left the staple off altogether.
I kinda knew that about 5 minutes to late ???  It was one of those "what the #%*% was I thinking moments".
Ron

lonehunter

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2010, 07:36:04 PM »
Very nice horn Ron!

Offline Tim Crosby

• Administrator
  • AKA TimBuckII
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2010, 07:45:47 PM »
 Tim, you are absolutly correct. I just had that conversation with another much better horner than myself and I agree I should have left the staple off altogether.
I kinda knew that about 5 minutes to late ???  It was one of those "what the #%*% was I thinking moments".
Ron

BTDT :)

Thanks, Tim
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 01:09:46 AM by Tim Crosby »

Offline Brian