Author Topic: It isn't as easy as it looks  (Read 25253 times)

J.D.

It isn't as easy as it looks
« on: September 28, 2008, 01:34:37 AM »
This is my very first attempt at engraving, using a prepared square graver bought from Mike Lea at the CLA show and a home made square graver made of 1/8 " square 1095 steel.

The lessons learned were;
the need for higher magnification.
A larger face on the previously prepared graver, and a smaller face on the home made graver.
Better lighting
Higher bench so's I don't have to bend at the waist to see my work....such as it is.
Prepare several practice blocks so's I can practice longer without preparing another block.
Learn to resharpen gravers quickly.

But hey, the bottom "border" line is almost straight...kinda, sorta

I do have a coupla questions.

What do y'all use for handles on engraving chisels  for chasing with an engraving hammer? And what length of chisel and handle would y'all recommend when using a chasing hammer. The home made chisel is nearly 4 " long.

Any and all advise is appreciated.
Thanks,
J.D.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2008, 01:37:46 AM by J.D. »

idahjo

Re: It isn't as easy as it looks
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2008, 02:09:46 AM »
 :o Man, does that look familiar! 
I can do about anything (self-figgered out) but engraving and checkering are my 'bug-a-boos' :-[
Engraving I will acceptibly master one of these days... checkering, never!
Hang in there...

Offline T*O*F

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2008, 02:11:52 AM »
JD
Commercially made gravers are usually unsuitable.  Depending on the use of the graver, each must be cut with a face angle, a heel angle, and side angles.  In addition, the length of the heel is also a consideration.  Likewise, you need a method of maintaining these angles during sharpening once they are ground.