Author Topic: Harbor Freight benchtop lathes  (Read 19291 times)

Rich Jakowski

Harbor Freight benchtop lathes
« on: June 28, 2008, 03:21:44 PM »
I’ve been looking at the Harbor Freight website and tempted to purchase one of those small benchtop lathes to aid in the assembly of lock casting part sets. I know there are a lot of skilled machinists on this forum who may look at this stuff as useless toys, but the prices are very affordable and seem ideally suited for fitting and assembling flintlock parts. I’d be interested in hearing if anyone in our group has had experience with these small machines. I’m especially wondering about the 7” X 10” benchtop lathe (93212—1VGA) and the mini multipurpose machine (39743-9VGA).   ???

Rich Jakowski

Re: Harbor Freight benchtop lathes
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 03:29:13 PM »
BTW: I've been posting on the old formum for several months and noticed I'm comming on board as a new member on this one.

Will the member info from the old board get transfered to this one or do we have start over from scratch which includes re-listing our profile for this new site?

lew wetzel

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 03:45:55 PM »
rich,thier prices are agreeable but not sure the quality is all that.and you have to think about tooling for those little lathes.they do have a lathe/mill combo for around $800.00 that i was looking at.i think they would come in handy for little projects but who is to say they are dependable and how they will hold tolerances????there are some other manufactures who specialize in small lathes and the quality is probably better...just a thought.

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2008, 04:04:09 PM »
It really helps to go look at the tools in person.

Unfortunately, I don't have any experience the the Harbor Freight tools. I have seen JET tools and some Grizzly, and they are good working machines.