Author Topic: Grandad's rifle.  (Read 9694 times)

Offline M Tornichio

Grandad's rifle.
« on: October 14, 2008, 01:47:53 AM »
 I took some quick pictures of a rifle that is going to be a christmas present for my Grandad this year. This rifle has been in the making for about 3 years. I ended up working on two other rifles in the mean time. Finally finished it up. I am going to take a picture of him with the rifle when I get a chance. I have not given it to him yet though.

The barrel is a getz 58 cal 42" octagon to round barrel. The wood is curly hard maple. I rust blued the barrel and the lock. Modified set triggers. The brass mounts were from reeves ghoering. I made the rest of the parts.

I am still learning to carve. I tried to do a little more on this rifle.
Any critism good or bad is always appreciated.
Have a great day,
Marc

Offline M Tornichio

Re: Grandad's rifle.
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2008, 01:52:07 AM »
Forgot to mention the stock was stained with aqua fortis. Then finished with Jim Chambers traditional oil finish. I was going for a pretty dark color on the rifle, as that is my preference. The traditional oil finish is a dark oil. I was not expecting it to be originally, or I might have only put 1 coat of aqua fortis on. In the end though I really like the finish. I like the dark color. The strips in the stock sho up pretty good in real life.

jim m

« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2008, 01:54:16 AM »
Grandpa is going to be very proud

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2008, 01:59:17 AM »