Author Topic: Motto: "No King But Jesus"  (Read 8662 times)

C. Cash

Motto: "No King But Jesus"
« on: September 15, 2008, 07:31:46 PM »
Newbie question so please forgive my ignorance on the matter.  Can anyone tell me if you have seen this motto on vintage Pennsylvania longrifles?   How about any from the "Lancaster" school?   I have heard that it appeared on rifles tied to the period of the American Revolution, but have never personally seen it(I have little experience...have never even held an original PA rifle pre-1800).  I would love to hear what ya'll have witnessed.   The question is interesting  to me for two reasons.  One, I would like to know how prevelant it was as it would say something about what those who fought for America held as important.    Two, I am having a rifle built and would be very interested in having this motto engraved on it...will probably do it anyway regardless of how historically accurate it is...but just curious.

Offline Fullstock longrifle

Re: Motto: "No King But Jesus"
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 07:59:01 PM »
I personally have never seen that saying on an antique longrifle, but with that said, someone else may have.

What I have seen, are the letters I N R I (Jesus of Nazareth King of The Jews) engraved on the bottom barrel flat of rifles made by J. P. Beck, Christian Beck and Nicholas Beyer. All worked in Lancaster County (later Lebanon County) Pennsylvania.

Frank
« Last Edit: September 15, 2008, 08:22:36 PM by Fullstock »

Offline Stophel

• Chris Immel
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 08:10:38 PM »
I don't think you really see a lot of mottoes of any kind.  Sometimes "Liberty or Death" or that sort of thing.  I think the "I was free born" gun is probably as close as you might get.
When a reenactor says "They didn't write everything down"   what that really means is: "I'm too lazy to look for documentation."

famouseagle

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 08:30:47 PM »