Author Topic: southern guns  (Read 5553 times)

chuck-ia

southern guns
« on: May 14, 2011, 04:00:17 PM »
Could anyone recommend a book (lots of pictures) on southern guns? I am just getting started on another gun, just started inletting the barrel, I don't know what type of gun I want yet. I have RCA volume 1, and thumbing through it, nothing seems to jump out at me. Seems I am falling into a groove where I like the looks of the more simple southern guns. I did a Gillespie  rifle a couple years ago, and really like the looks of it, I have thought about building another one. Those are really nice guns in the RCA book, most have a lot of carving and engraving, something I am not comftorable doing. Another thing, I have a new large siler deluxe lock, could the tail be filed down to look right on a southern gun? I have seen pictures of the large siler lock on southern guns, to me they just don't look right, maybe I am wrong on this. My gillespie has a late ketland on it. Advice? thanks chuck

Offline heinz

Re: southern guns
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2011, 04:06:40 PM »
Bill Ivey's book on North Carolina rifles has lots of pictures although it is short on measurements and details for building.  It does give an excellent feel for the range of architecture and the various schools and  changes over time.   RCA volume 2 has information on early southern guns and would be a good choice.  Also do not overlook the treasure trove of information right on this site in the museum under southern guns.
kind regards, heinz

timM

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2011, 04:11:20 PM »
Bill Ivey's new book is an excellent recommendation.  I would add Jerry Nobles 4 volume soft bound set to that recommendation. 

eagle24

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2011, 04:23:28 PM »