Author Topic: Opinions Please  (Read 7885 times)

Offline nord

Opinions Please
« on: May 22, 2011, 08:46:03 PM »
H Dimick rifle 40 calibre, fullstock percussion. Indited for selling arms to the Confederacy and beat the charges. Originally from Lexington Kentucky, that is where this rifle was made. Don Stith confirmed it and stated that it is a rare Dimick because it had brass furniture, Dimick always mounted with iron or silver.

Comments from ALR Committee by request of owner:

I'm no expert on southern guns but that I have some concerns...

The wrist repair is a non-issue but the comment about brass furniture being unknown by this maker sets off alarms. Lack of a patchbox or grease hole is problematic for me on this style of rifle.

Then the full side view... If those ramrod guides aren't equidistant, and in view of the rear sight being moved, the barrel has unquestionably been cut. However, if the guides are equidistant, then I'd bet a restock. (Which explains the brass furniture and lack of a box or grease hole.)

My gut says restock and I'd bet against it ever being delivered as a smooth rifle. Rifling is either shot out or barrel re-bored. Actually I suspect the barrel may be re-used and remounted.

While I wouldn't argue with a description of "unique", it would take a whole lot of convincing for me to ever make an offer on this piece.

================================================================

For what its worth, I will vouch that Don Stith did confirm this being a brass mounted Dimmick. He gave me that information and I passed it on to the owner of this rifle. There is no question that the barrel has been cut, the owner told me that before I even saw photos of the rifle.

Don said that even though this Dimmick was rarer than a silver mounted ones it would not bring the price of a silver mounted one because people expect it to be silver instead of brass mounted.