Author Topic: Seeking advice on short fowler  (Read 8349 times)

Roxie_L

Seeking advice on short fowler
« on: May 28, 2011, 07:43:53 AM »
I wasn’t sure what forum this question was best suited to so I apologize if this isn’t a good place for it.
Although I have been shooting muzzleloaders for many years, I admit that I’m still not familiar with all the different styles so I’m looking for some help. I’d like to have a traditional style gun, doesn’t need to be exactly historically correct but at least something that’s not going to look modern. I put this out of my mind for a while until I saw the question on powder to shot ratios. I have two fowlers, a 16ga and 24ga that I absolutely love but they’re not well suited to some of the heavily vegetated areas I hunt, they are just too long for easy maneuvering so I’d like something shorter. Is there a traditional style that has a length somewhere in between a fowler and a blunderbuss? I prefer the fowler styling but would like to have a barrel that is 28-30 inches long. I would like a 20ga because the only one I have loads from the wrong end and turned into a major project. Okay, I’ll explain that one. I let a dealer talk me into this youth model Remington 870 which was perfect except for the stock that was too short. He said he could put a thicker recoil pad on it, he made a complete mess of things trying to put two recoil pads together to make the LOP longer. Not only did it look terrible but I hate recoil pads because they catch on clothing. I ended up having a new butt stock made to fit me and while it’s now a gun I like, it’s not a muzzleloader. I’m open to all ideas and suggestions but with a few limitations: I need a LOP around 13-3/4 inches give or take a little depending on the stock style, bore no bigger than 16ga and the barrel profile must be light and fast handling, right handed and flintlock.  
Ciao!
Roxie
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 07:45:42 AM by Roxie »

greybeard

Re: Seeking advice on short fowler