Author Topic: newbe questions  (Read 5456 times)

FPblacksmith

newbe questions
« on: November 21, 2008, 02:54:33 AM »
   Hello All

I am new to rifle building ,unless you want to count  a Thompson Center Hawkins kit and a few CVA pistol kits back when I was still in High School.
   What I do  have going for me is I have  been blacksmithing for about 40 yrs now.
   My goal is to build a longrifle and make all the parts (less Barrel) from scratch .
   I am thinking that I should try to build my first from a lock kit then possibly make the furniture from wrought iron.
   Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to go about getting started? What barrel? What lock kit? Stock?

Thanks
   Mark

mykeal

Re: newbe questions
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 03:12:04 AM »
Let another 'newbie' try; I've only done kits and am in pretty much the same position, so maybe my perspective will help a little.

What I did, and am still doing, is purchase a copy of Recreating the American Long Rifle by Buchele,  Shumway & Alexander (I think the Log Cabin Shop stocks it) and other books in the Muzzloading Gun Maker Series.

Picking the lock, stock, barrel and furniture very much depends on what rifle you want to build. There are literally thousands of different options - periods, makers, designs - to choose from. These books will guide you through making those choices and prevent major mistakes at the beginning.

How about guys - do I have the right idea?

Offline Ken G

• F & AM #758
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 03:48:56 AM »
Hi Mark.  Welcome to the forum.   I think the forst step is to decide what style rifle you want to build.  Forged hardware sounds like a Southern rifle to me but you did not specify.  Also what are you planning to do with the finished rifle?  That will determine caliber.  Target shooting?  Small game?  Deer?
Cheers,
Ken
Failure only comes when you stop trying.

Offline Jerry V Lape

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 04:39:58 AM »