Author Topic: Lubes  (Read 5686 times)

Offline varsity07840

Lubes
« on: November 30, 2008, 06:26:40 PM »
With all the posts on the subject recently, I'd like to get some opinions on the mink oil lube that Track sells.

Duane

Daryl

Re: Lubes
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 08:25:22 PM »
I've been using it since abotu 1984 for hunting in very chilly weather on the Special Weapon's hunt for moose here in the North.  Taylor myself and another friend were out tramping through the snow on one hunt almost -50. The mink oil will get a bit stiff in that weather, but softens immediately you touch it with fingers.
 It works quite well and probably good for your leather boots as well to keep the leather soft and plyant.  I like it.

JohnnyM

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 10:41:09 PM »
Pure, rendered mink oil or tallow as Track calls it works great for hunting.  I use it or bear grease, exclusively for huntin'.
Regards,
Johnny

Offline Collector

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 02:51:36 AM »
JohnnyM,  Sounds awfully familiar.  You wouldn't perchance be the JohnnyM that shoots an Allen Martin Lehigh piece, crafts award winning (Dixons') powder measures and writes poetry, from time-to-time?  Welcome to the ALR forums!

Offline Gene Carrell

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2008, 10:37:17 AM »
I have a couple of rifles that seem to prefer  a 'grease-type' patch lube. Mink oil  is  my choice. I have shot all day (summer and winter) without cleaning between shots  and  no buildup or hard fouling. It does not leave a glaze in the bore like I found with  Bore Butter.
Gene

Daryl

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2008, 07:43:37 PM »
Gene- you have found the 'secret' that we seem to have dificulty passing on - snug patches and proper crowning to allow them for easy loading.

Offline t.caster

« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2008, 08:22:44 PM »