Author Topic: Jaeger rifles  (Read 4844 times)

The other DWS

Jaeger rifles
« on: February 17, 2012, 06:41:45 AM »
is there a good reference source on Jaegers in North America?   I have been eyeballing one for almost 6 years in a courthouse exhibit case IN a small southern Indiana town that has strong German emigrant/immigrant traditions.  It has been laying in a dark case, lock side down for all these years.

Today I finally found someone with a key to the case and got a better look.  I'll be working there again in a couple more months and have made arrangements to get it out again for a more detailed look, measurements and photos. No one in the courthouse knows anything about it but I have a lead to a local guy who is sort of the local authority on the german settler families who might be able to help
  It is typical (at least to my limited perceptions)  with a wooden patch box (lid still there)  large bore short swamped rifle barrel, min 60 cal,  it had DST but the back one has been removed.  the lock is a Rottsdam percussion replacement. the P-lock seems to fit fairly well in the original mortice, good for length and screw matchup with the original sideplate and only slightly narrower than the original on the back quarter or so of the lock plate---based on the fit.
 It looks like the stock is original with original brass furniture--minus the forward sling ring, the stud for the back one is still in place.  forward ramrod pile is missing and the ramrod is an iron replacement. front sight is a small brass bump dovetailed into the barrel.  the rear sight is exactly like one of the TOTW Jaeger sights, fixed and folding blade with a fancy little forward finale .

At this point I'm speculating it was a family heirloom brought west to IN in the 1810--1830 period  and later "improved for local use with the addition of the percussion lock and removal of the setting trigger.