Author Topic: Getting Your Ears Burned  (Read 7173 times)

Offline Frizzen

• Phil Piburn
Getting Your Ears Burned
« on: March 27, 2012, 08:05:50 PM »
This is from a club in Ohio back in the 1940's. It clearly shows the danger of standing too close
to a Flintlock. Bet that old boy had a few choice words.

The Pistol Shooter

Fred_Dwyer

Re: Getting Your Ears Burned
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 09:31:48 PM »
Since forever ago, I was taught the observers position in any shooting was to the rear and left of the shooter. This was with smokeless guns. I thought it was so you didn't distract the shooter since you were behind his head. Then Garands eject spent ammo to the right rear. When I started shooting ML it made sense, that this probly goes back to Colonial Army training and just stayed that way cuz there was no need to change the training just because guns changed the lock mechanism. "That's the way we always train!"
Imagine the nasty burn if you're reloading and measuring out some powder!!

mjm46@bellsouth.net

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 09:35:26 PM »
Most re-enactment groups I was in (Back in the 70's) all had rules about using "Flash Guards". Haven't done any re-enacting in 40 years and maybe things have changed. The guards direct the flash upward. I had a bucktail in my hat once that was about half fried from flashes directed up from my own flash guard on my musket. Personally, I hated them, but if you're in a line like Revolutionary soldiers they do protect the guy next to you.

Are they historically correct or a modern adaptation for safety?

Offline Chris Treichel

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 09:44:14 PM »