Author Topic: Butt plate and ram rod thimbles.  (Read 8432 times)

LehighBrad

Butt plate and ram rod thimbles.
« on: April 08, 2012, 09:02:36 PM »
This may be a dumb question....even though some say no questions are dumb. Do you leave the ram rod thimbles and butt plate on the stock when staining it and for that matter finishing it too??? I know the nose cap stays on because it's peened on for good and my trigger plate, trigger guard, side plate, and lock are easy enough to take off. And of course the barrel will be out. But does the thimbles and butt plate NEED to be taken off too? :-\ How do you guys go about finishing of the stock?

Vomitus

Re: Butt plate and ram rod thimbles.
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 09:22:46 PM »
  Mr.Brad,
   I'm far from an expert on this,but if it were me,I'd take it off. You've had them on and off probably many times already so one more time...? To me, It'd be like going to the outhouse and not lowering your drawers. :o ;D  Sealing the wood would be my concern,that's all. Can't wait to see your rifle complete! Cheers
« Last Edit: April 08, 2012, 09:38:05 PM by Leatherbelly »

Offline Tom Currie

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2012, 11:00:29 PM »
I leave as much brass on as possible when applying any kind of sealer, or finish. Otherwise your parts will never fit quite as well as they once did. 

LehighBrad

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 12:25:59 AM »