Author Topic: load info  (Read 11570 times)

twotimer

load info
« on: June 07, 2012, 06:23:54 AM »
a good friend passed a month ago today and passed me one of his black powder rifles and some 2f and 3f powder.its a 50cal.with a w.m large match barrel,wide groves,narrow lands.this rifle has not been shot since 79,and was not shot much back then.its been well kept,in excellent shape.i have never used the ffg,or fffg powder.what would be a good starting load with the 3f,or should i use the 2f,i have will be using a .495 ball,linen patch.any help would be greatly appreciated. ps.i'm a newbie here,but hope to be around a while.thanks.

Don Tripp

Re: load info
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 06:36:36 AM »
Is it a flintlock? He might have used the 3 F as priming powder although I have used 3 F in a .50.

60 Gr. of the 2 F is good place to start though if you are absolutely sure that the gun is sound.

Is it a custom gun or production?

twotimer

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 06:43:21 AM »
don,its a percussion,and a custom job,he built six back in the 70s,all with w.m.large barrels,a couple of .45 hawkens style,2 .36 cal.long rifles,this .50 i have,it has a 31.5" barrel,and he also built a .54 cal.i have shot a lot of pyrodex,but no ffg.

twotimer

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 06:47:08 AM »
p.s.the rifle is solid.i have about 12 cans of the 3f as opossed to 3 cans of 2f.

Offline Hungry Horse

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2012, 07:15:11 AM »
As I recently learned on this board, from Bob Roller,  the barrels made by Bill Large in that rifling configuration, are called Pope style rifling. The one I had the pleasure of shooting was superior to anything that shot against it in my neck of the woods. Congratulations, on such a nice acquisition. Sorry you had to lose a friend to get it.

Hungry Horse

Don Tripp

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2012, 07:30:44 AM »