Author Topic: Saw blues  (Read 8427 times)

Offline Eric Smith

Saw blues
« on: July 09, 2012, 02:35:20 AM »
Once again, I am having trouble cutting a square line on a stock blank. Had the barrel inletted just about like it should be. Then I went and cut the bottom line to inlet the ramrod channel, BOOM,  saw canted again. Squared it up with a rasp but left so little room for a ramrod channel.  I hate to admit it but I am thinking a band saw might help. Anyone else been through this  frustration? This is my first build with a blank.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 02:39:22 AM by E. Smith »
Eric Smith

Offline Rich

Re: Saw blues
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 03:40:52 AM »
My method is to mount the stock vertically in a vise. I use a dovetail saw to start the cut, making sure that it is square both vertically and horizontally. You really have to do this part accurately because your saw will continue and magnify any canting you start with. I then switch to the hand saw. I check often to make sure the saw isn't canting. I use a caliper to do that. With the saw in the cut, I check the distance to the edge of the stock. I then can hold the caliper to the back side against the saw blade to know which way I am canting. Once you are past the width of the saw blade, a small wedge can be put at the top of the cut. This will allow adjustment of the cut. If it cannot be adjusted enough, cut off the waste and restart the cut. I have two handsaws. One is a craftsman general duty saw. It has a fairly heavy blade. My main saw is a Garlik lynx. It has a tapered blade from the teeth to the back edge. It has 4 1/2 teeth per inch. While a bandsaw would be easier, I keep telling myself that I'm learning how to use a hand saw. Another handsawing technique is to look at the reflection of the wood on the saw blade. If the reflection and the wood form a straight line, you're square.

Offline Elnathan

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 03:59:52 AM »