Author Topic: making a blueprint from rca measurements  (Read 4649 times)

billm

making a blueprint from rca measurements
« on: July 15, 2012, 10:02:21 PM »
I am going to be starting my next build and want to build a soddy daisey like the flint one in the library.Problem for me is I only done precarves and since I cant find a plan for a soddy i will have to go off of those measurements provided  in the library.Being a novice I figured some of you with more experience could help me out..thanks in advance
Bill

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Re: making a blueprint from rca measurements
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 10:23:07 PM »
You can't rely on a photo for exact measurements, because of the 'fisheye' effect when a full length gun is photo'd. The center of the gun is closest to the lens, and the muzzle and butt are farther away. The farther away the camera is from the gun when the picture is taken, the better.

Being aware of that effect helps when you wish to proportion off a photo.
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

billm

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 10:38:24 PM »
thanks,for the rifle i want to build from the vitual museum they have some rca measurements listed at the top of the page. so i figured it wouldnt be that hard to get it close,just dont know how to go about laying it out from known measurements.its the flint soddy daisey with the cheekpiece that runs from the wrist to the butt.I have a 13/16 40 cal barrell and a stock that has the rr drilled and barrell inlet.no other shaping and really want to learn how to start from a blank.I just did a fordney preshped  and that drop at heel is close would you just go off that or try to draw out the measurements they have listed on the site?thanks...bill

Offline JCKelly

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 01:00:19 AM »