Author Topic: Two ??: Lock inlet prep.  (Read 4877 times)

Offline Eric Smith

Two ??: Lock inlet prep.
« on: July 23, 2012, 09:00:10 PM »
I am getting ready to inlet the lock into my blank. I have 1/2 " of wood from the lock inlet surface to the barrel. Is that too much, or should I lay it out and just inlet down til the bolster is flat against the barrel?

I do not plan on installing a touchhole liner. Since this is my first build, I don't think I will shoot it that much. Mostly it will just be a wallhanger, a monument to what not to do next time!

Without a touchhole liner, where, in relation to the breech should I mark the touchhole. I figure 3/32 in front of the breech mark and dead center of the barrel flat, but I'm not sure.
  Laying out for this lock inlet is tricky for the first timer. Any tips would be welcome.  ;D  Eric
« Last Edit: July 23, 2012, 09:00:58 PM by E. Smith »
Eric Smith

Offline Long Ears

Re: Two ??: Lock inlet prep.
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 09:18:48 PM »
Eric, if I was building it I would still set the vent hole forward enough for a liner. You need to cone the inside of the flash hole anyway so a liner is not too much larger than a liner. I see no reason why you wouldn't shoot the heck out of it first gun or not. You may or someone else may need to line it one day. Bob

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 09:33:56 PM »
Measure how thick your lockplate is, and then plane the panel down to just 1/32 thicker than the bolster of the plate. Once you are all done with your inlet, you can plane off that last 1/32 which is all scarred up from inletting, edges rounded, etc, to leave a nice clean flat crisp pane face.

Eric, wait a minute before you get the plane out. Make sure your panel is parallel with the barrel flat. As you plane, be sure to keep the panel SQUARE with the top flat of the barrel.