Author Topic: Jacob Ernst rifle as it is and to restore or not to restore  (Read 10619 times)

albatrosdva

Jacob Ernst rifle as it is and to restore or not to restore
« on: November 18, 2012, 07:35:34 AM »
Hi there,
I am new to collecting rifles, I normally stick with old French flintlock military muskets but I bought one at auction for what I think was a good deal but I don't really know. It did not look to have a name on it but I saw a place where I thought there could have been a name and the name Ernst came up. It looks like a I or J in front of it. I can only find one horrible Jacob Ernst rifle on the internet so I would like to know if this is a common maker or an oddity. I know the stock is pretty plain but since he started in the 1750s it could have been made in an older style...purely conjecture I want you guys opinion on this rifle. With the T. Ketland and Co lock I would date it to the so called golden age period but I really don't know about them so could I get an estimate of age, rarity and value for this piece? The barrel is just over 47" and was rifled but is now bored out smooth. I also would like to know opinions on what would be intrusive or too intrusive a restoration of this. I am without question going to make the hammer screw, lock screw and the barrel key lug as right now the only thing holding the barrel is the tang screw. I will also clean off the corrosion at the muzzle as pictured.  I would like to go ahead and make it full stock again since the stock broke off so very short it looks rather absurd to me but what is the understanding of what should and should not be done. I would consider reconverting it but since the cut out where the pan would be goes below what the pan would cover I think that would be too intrusive and would look obvious. Any comments or help in any way are much appreciated. I have less than $400 into it so you can't really hurt my feels one way or other about it. Sorry for the poor pictures of the name it was taken be