Author Topic: First atempt at barrel turning. Need advice.  (Read 12348 times)

Offline Rolf

• There's more than one way to skin a cat.
First atempt at barrel turning. Need advice.
« on: December 14, 2012, 11:00:02 PM »
First attempt at barrel turning.
I’ve never used a lathe before and the results did not turn out as quite expected. I wanted to make a barrel with molded flats and a sighting rail like this one. I’d like discuss what went wrong and would welcome suggestions how to get it right next time

I bought a caliber 62, smooth bore barrel blank from Blackley. The blank was 14” long and 1.125” in outer diameter. I threaded the barrel blank 3/4” x 16 and made the plug out of 40mm (1.5”) round stock, mild steel. Threaded portion of the plug is 15mm (0.6”) long. I messed up the first attempt at threading the barrel and had to cut it down to 13”.

Next step was to turn down the plug to the same diameter as the blank.

Next I used a vertical mill to mill the side flats.

Next I turned the outer profile of the barrel using the top slide for the tapered portions.

Final results.

Problems/mistakes discussion.
1.The flats disappeared when turning the taper.
Possible solution: Mill the tang stock square, so it can be used to hold the barrel in the mill vice.
Mill the flats after turning the profile.

2. The barrel is undersized. This is the profile I was trying for.

I was aiming for 23.2mm(0.913”) at the muzzle tapering to 21.0mm(0.827”) 40mm(1.575”)  and ended up with; muzzle 22.2mm(0.873”) tapering to 20.2mm(0.794”) 40 mm from the muzzle.
From the breech I was aiming for 28.6mm (1.125”) tapering to 21.0mm 275mm (10.827”) towards the muzzle and ended up with ; Breech 25.6mm(1.008”) tapering to 20.2mm, 275mm towards the breech.

The walls are now to thin, to file in new flats and sighting rail.
Two things caused this:
I. Not possible to use the automatic feed when using the top slide for turning the tapers.
Manuel feed gave a rough finish which needed a lot of filing.