Author Topic: Polishing my lock  (Read 12073 times)

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Polishing my lock
« on: December 28, 2008, 04:58:44 AM »
What I thought would be a fairly straight forward job has turned into a considerable one. This is my first time polishing a TRS roundfaced Jaeger lock, one with a little tiny rebated edge all around the perimeter. I am prepping it for engraving, in rococo style.

Months ago I had filed most of the grainy casting surface off, and thought it would be a snap to polish this up. Man, I could not have been more wrong. That little edge needs to be cut with a chisel to crisp it up, and that sharpness maintained during polishing. Never polished a curved surface either. Yikes!

This is what I started with today. It's not nearly good enough, when you really look at it, all the wee pits and the moulding under the pan, etc.

Mechanically, I have it all together now, main, sear and frizzen springs installed, halfcock notch set where the cock stops exactly over its raised outline on the plate.

So this turned into a two day job when I had expected a half day job. At first I am frustrated, then I settle in and do it right. Now I am happy, even tho the work ahead is much more than I expected.

It's a reminder that it's not the quantity of time that's important... it's that you are enjoying the time you are spending.

Acer
« Last Edit: December 28, 2008, 05:01:03 AM by Acer Saccharum »
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Re: Polishing my lock
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2008, 05:04:18 AM »
One of the things this brings to mind: how was this done back in the day?

I assume they hammered the plate material into a mould. Is that right?

I also assume they had rifflers, as these have proven to be the best tools for the job.