Author Topic: Siler Lock building help needed  (Read 7574 times)

Mississippi Mike

Siler Lock building help needed
« on: January 10, 2013, 07:46:44 PM »
Hello everyone.
I'm new here but not to the hobby.
This is my first attempt at building a lock. This is a small Siler lock and I am having a few problems. This is an older kit I got from a friend. I don't know if that is part of my problem BUT..... anyway here is my issue:

After assembling the lock I cocked it a few times to see how it felt. It seems to have an issue with PASSING by the half cock notch. If I go really slow and try to stop the hammer at half cock it will do so and will function properly there (It will not fire). Then when I go to full cock the lock functions as it should.
If I examine the lock as it goes through the cocking process it seems the main spring may be too long. The tail of the main spring seems to be forced into the corner of the tumbler which would seem to make a difficult transition as it continues to ride on up the face of the tumbler.

This is the only Siler lock I have so I can't compare it another Siler I have on hand.

What do you guys see in the cocking of the lock stages below:

At Half cock:

At Full cock:

What do you think......
Is the spring tail too long?
Does it need to be bent so it will stay out of the crotch of the tumbler?
Do I need to try another spring?

HELP......

Thanks everyone for looking!

« Last Edit: January 10, 2013, 07:47:18 PM by Mississippi Mike »

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
Re: Siler Lock building help needed
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 08:08:01 PM »
It appears to me as though the hole for the mainspring pin was drilled about 1/16" too far to the rear.  The tip of the mainspring should bear against the tip of the tumbler.