Author Topic: Using Onion Skins to dye a horn  (Read 5382 times)

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Using Onion Skins to dye a horn
« on: March 01, 2013, 01:34:30 AM »
First let me say I am a complete novice when it comes to powder horns and if one can be screwed up I am sure I will do it!

I read where Carl (gorgeous horns by the way) used Onion skins to put a wonderful color on one of his horns.  I would like to get a similiar color on a couple of natural colored (contempoary) horns that I have.

I have a couple of questions:

Is it reasonable to think I can color a finished contemporary horn that does not appear to have any type of finish on it except for the wooden buttplug? If so how do I go about it and will it ruin the wooded butt plug? (i.e. soaking it)

If using Onion skins is not feasible on a completed horn, is there something else that I can use to get that color while leaving the wood like it is now?

On one of them I tried to use some Aqua Fortis and it did about as much good as putting cold water on it!
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline Dan Herda

Re: Using Onion Skins to dye a horn
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 02:39:57 AM »
Dennis, I just used this method on my first banded horn. I will post pix and method I used after work.(00:30)

smorrison

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2013, 04:40:26 AM »
Dennis,