Author Topic: Question for the knife makers  (Read 3603 times)

Offline Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
Question for the knife makers
« on: March 15, 2013, 05:41:44 AM »
I'm working on a knife that will have the tang thru the handle and peened over an end cap, but I've never done one before.

How much of the tang should I leave sticking out past the end cap for peening? 

Is the peening done cold or hot?

Any other advice or things to watch for?

Thanks for any help you can offer?

-Ron
Ron Winfield

Life is too short to hunt with an ugly gun. -Nate McKenzie

Offline jrb

Re: Question for the knife makers
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 02:04:02 PM »
In one of the "Blacksmithing with Hershel House" dvds he demonstrates forging and assembling one of his "backwoods" style antler handled knives.
He drilled the antler with a hand held electric drill from each end until he felt the holes meet, then he bent the knife's tang cold in his hands, to fit the antler's curve.
I think,if i remember right , he said the tang length 1/8" above the washer. He picked a drill bit slightly smaller than the tip of the tang and drilled the cap, kind of a washer looking styled one in this case, then filed a square or rectangular hole that fit the tang tip VERY snuggly, he stressed a nice perfect fit here. (he had already, after forging, fully annealed the entire blade and tang so it would be as soft as possible)Then, after filing to refine the blade shape, hardening and tempering the blade but with the tang still fully annealed, the knife with handle and cap in place, held in a vise, and a medium sized ballpein hammer, using the ball pein he lightly peined the tang, while it was cold, not heated.