Author Topic: Breech Plug Witness Marks Won't Line Up  (Read 6517 times)

Silky

Breech Plug Witness Marks Won't Line Up
« on: April 27, 2013, 08:22:11 PM »
Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting -- lots of inspiration here to start my first project.

So I have a barrel that has had the breech plug installed, with a witness mark cold-chiseled into the bottom as evidence.  However, I can't get the two marks to line-up.  I've read some old threads here in the forums and have tried the anti-seize, but it just won't turn that last 1/2mm.  Before I do some irreversible damage, I thought I'd ask for your help/advice.  Any ideas?

Thanks a lot!

- Tom

Offline Ken G

• F & AM #758
Re: Breech Plug Witness Marks Won't Line Up
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2013, 08:31:53 PM »
Take it back out and clean the face of the breech plug, threads, and shoulder inside the barrel real good.  Most likely there was a sliver of metal filing or something in the threads that got pushed between face of the plug and the shoulder inside the barrel that's keeping it from going that last little bit.  
OR
It was originally installed with a bigger wrench and more umph!  

If all else fails you can sand/file the face of the breech plug where it is contacting the shoulder, allowing it to screw in a little more. If you go this route, get a perm. magic marker (large mark's a lot) and cover the face of the plug.  Screw it in and it will rub off where it makes contact shoulder.  That's the part you want to carefully remove.  Go slow and easy.  It doesn't look like much needs to be removed.

Ken
« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 08:38:17 PM by Ken G »
Failure only comes when you stop trying.

Offline Jerry V Lape

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2013, 08:40:29 PM »