Author Topic: plumber's lead for casting bullets?  (Read 9937 times)

titanicslim

plumber's lead for casting bullets?
« on: January 07, 2009, 11:12:16 PM »
Hi All

A fellow at a gun shop just informed me that the best lead for casting rifle balls is plumber's solder.  I'm fairly new to BP shooting but I was surprised I'd never heard this before.  Is this right?

Dave

Offline BJH

Re: plumber's lead for casting bullets?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2009, 12:24:44 AM »
As long as we are talking about plumber's lead ingots "usually 5lbs.ea." You are getting pure lead. About as good as it gets. There is a thing called bar solder that is an alloy of lead, and tin. It will be stamped 60/40 or similar. Not good round ball material. I have only run into bar solder once in my life so I don't think its too common.
BJH

Harnic

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2009, 12:43:51 AM »
"Plumber's lead" is very uncommon these days except in a salvage context.  Most plumbing now is plastic & plumber's solder is no good for muzzle loaders as it's too hard with the high tin content.  A good rule of thumb is: if you can scratch it easily with your thumbnail (a deep scratch, not just in the tarnish) it's pure enough for roundballs.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 12:09:21 AM by Harnic »

Offline Roger Fisher

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2009, 03:30:56 AM »
Stay pals with any plumber you know!  Grab up any of the lead pipes he drags out of an old/old building.  Thats good soft lead, I'm told! ;)

Offline Acorn Mush

• Starting Member
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2009, 06:02:44 AM »
Don't forget lead flashing from roofs of older structures. Its nice and soft also.
Consectatio pro excellentia in mediocris

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2009, 06:25:22 AM »
Hi All